- You can delete a Depop account by emailing the company with a deletion request.
- Depop doesn’t allow you to have more than one account at once, so sometimes users need to delete an old account to make a new one.
- Note that Depop won’t delete your account if you have any open disputes, like not delivering a product that’s been paid for.
- Visit Business Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.
Depop is an online shopping app for iOS and Android that allows its users to buy and sell clothing, accessories, and other items from one another.
Like Poshmark or other clothing selling apps, Depop allows for thrifting and recycling of clothes. It also helps people clean out their closets and make a little bit of money, or start their own independent fashion lines.
But if you need to delete your Depop account — maybe you want to start a new shop, or curb your thrifting habits — you can do so in a few steps.
How to delete a Depop account
People don’t often need to delete their Depop accounts — the most common reason this happens is that a user wants to start a new label or shop that they don’t want associated with their previous account. Depop doesn’t allow users to have more than one account at a time, so this is the best way to start a new brand.
If you want to delete your Depop account for any reason, you may find it confusing — it’s easy to do, but there’s no button or tab on their website that supports this function.
Instead, you need to email [email protected] from the email associated with your account. Be sure to include your username in the message, along with your request to delete the account.
After you send the email, it may take up to seven days to process your request. Once processed, you should receive an email from the Depop team confirming that your account has been deleted.
Please note, the Depop team won’t delete your account if you have any open disputes connected to it. This means that if someone has paid for a product that you never delivered, you can’t delete your account to make it go away. You need to resolve all conflicts with other users before requesting deletion.